Kaitlin’s Story

KAITLIN’S STORY

Hi Everyone!

I don’t want to make this long and drawn out, yet I want to be transparent about my testimony.  Here are some bullet points that summarize my life and why I do what I do.

  1. I was adopted at the age of 3.  Later in life my biological sister and mother reached out to me.  I was informed that I was a product of rape, and my birth and adoption were the cause of my biological mother’s drug and alcohol abuse, depression, anxiety, and in turn was the cause of my biological sisters’ depression and anxiety…
  2. I am transgender and have gone through gender reassignment surgery, I have dealt with bullying, hate, and discrimination in my younger years.
  3. On June 6, 2006, I walked into my home to find my fiancé Jason with a gunshot wound in his head from a very unforeseen suicide.
  4. I spent 8 years in a marriage that was violent… Not just physically violent and abusive, but emotionally and mentally violent.  I would have much rather endured the nightly beatings and steel toed boots to my head than some of the words that were said to me.  Physical pain heals far sooner than emotional and mental wounds.
  5. I stole a check that was left behind in an empty office that I was helping clear out, signed it and attempted to cash it in hopes that the money would be enough for me to walk away from my marriage and get to safety. Every penny that came in and out of our accounts were monitored on my ex’s phone app. Instead, it was a closed account and not only did that end in a warrant, but when my husband found out about it led to more severe and frequent beatings.  He quickly moved me out of town so I could remain the sole support for us – only now … I couldn’t call the cops for his meth use, production, or distribution, or domestic violence.  A call to the police would cost me my freedom.  I lived in my own hell.  He made sure that I knew that he cheated on me with 53 women while we were married – he kept a list.  When my mom passed away suddenly in 2016, we had no choice but to return to Las Vegas and reside with and care for my father.  My Father and ex-husband became fast friends and even when he witnessed several beatings, my father told me it was none of his concern – what happened in my marriage was my problem.   Finally, in August of 2017 I could handle no more.  I lost my mom (my best friend), my father had taken my abusers side, my marriage was a disaster, I had a warrant out for my arrest and I had given up all hope.  With a bottle of Ambien in one hand and Xanax in the other I decided I didn’t want to wake up the next day and was getting ready to take my life.  It was at that moment that I very clearly heard God’s voice telling me to “Make my Mess my Ministry”.  I told my husband I was done, and I wasn’t staying.  He called the police on me that day and I was arrested and extradited to Missouri. I faced my charges and spent a little over a year incarcerated where I was able to heal, regain my self-esteem, self-worth, and deal with my depression and anxiety. It was God’s way of saving my life.  When I was released on parole, I took a position working with offenders being released from incarceration and helped them reintegrate back into society.  That was the beginning of me starting Refuge Ministries and teaching courses such as “Courage for My Life”, and reaching out to others about God’s love, mercy, and grace.  During this time, my ex-husband continued to live with my father until his passing at which time he emptied all my father’s accounts, sold all his valuables, and still remains in his house today.  He has remarried for the 4th time and at the age of 56 had a new baby.
  6. My adopted sister suffers from Bipolar 2, and I worry about her health and safety every day.
  7. In 2020 I felt like I was ready to date again and have a life.  I dated Adam for a year just to learn that he was married, and I was the only one that didn’t know.
  8. In 2021 I met a wonderful man named Daniel that made me feel special for the first time in my life and we had a connection that I’ve never experienced with anyone before.  After 5 months of dating, I got a call from a law enforcement officer letting me know he had overdosed on Fentanyl.
  9. In the past few years, I have been involved in church, leading bible studies, working with prisoners on reintegrating back into society, working with members of the LGBTQ+ community, people who have been abused, trafficked, who have been through grief and loss, those who deal with mental health disorders, and a plethora of other traumas.  I have heard every story you can possibly think of about the horrors of our world.
  10. I am on the service center committee for the Salvation Army for Livingston and Grundy County, and I head up the Angel Tree Program and coordinate their special events in 2022. I am also part of Leadership Chillicothe, and the Certified Peer Support Specialist Chair for the Green Hills Regional Crisis Intervention Team.
  11. I provide gender sensitivity training for the State of Missouri Job Centers statewide.
  12. I was the Program Director, Music Director, and Morning Radio Show host at KCHI radio, and I handle all of the publicity, public service announcements, many of the interviews – I am the voice of Chillicothe.
  13. My degree in Criminal Justice and have completed the Law Enforcement training academy and began my career over 20 years ago in Law Enforcement and Corrections – Something near and dear to my heart. I also completed law school and I am a JD paralegal.  I do not practice law nor have I sat for my bar exam.
  14. I have great professional relationships with members of the local Law Enforcement community (Police, Sheriff, Fire, Corrections, etc.).
  15. I’ve worked closely with the Livingston County Public Administrator and volunteer as a music minster and peer support specialist to several clients.
  16. I share a good professional relationship with the administration of Western Missouri Correctional Center / Crossroads Correctional Center and am working on building relationships within the MoDOC to help assist individuals releasing from their facilities.
  17. I am a keyboardist and vocalist for the Chillicothe United Methodist Church and a member of Liberty United Methodist Church where I provide special music and help coordinate various programs and teach various courses.
  18. I also live with mental health disorders.  I have dealt with depression, anxiety and PTSD most of my life and just recently was re-diagnosed with Bipolar 2 disorder. Every day I learn something new about how to live with these disorders.  Some days are more challenging than others.

My Philosophy:  “What Would Jesus Do?” — He would LOVE first.  Everything else I leave for God to figure out.  I am not here to judge anyone or put anyone down for their lifestyle, beliefs (or non-beliefs), for their past, their present, their mistakes, their stumbles…. I am here to support individuals and bring love and encouragement into their lives.  I am here to meet in person, by zoom, in prisons, jails, hospitals, treatments centers, anywhere that God will allow me to go!

Stay Blessed with tons of joy and happiness,

 

 

Kaitlin G. Morgan
Executive Director